Skip navigation

Macy Faculty Scholars

The Macy Faculty Scholars Program is designed to identify and nurture the careers of educational innovators in medicine and nursing.

About the Program

The Macy Faculty Scholars Program – the first of its kind – launched in December 2010. The program aims to accelerate needed reforms in health professions education to accommodate the dramatic changes occurring in medical practice and health care delivery.

The application deadline for the 2017 Macy Faculty Scholars Program was February 15, 2017. To learn more about applying for the Macy Faculty Scholars Program read the 2017 Program Brochure.

An informational webinar for interested applicants was held on December 13, 2016. A recording from the December 13 webinar is available below:

Under the program, the Foundation will select five faculty leaders each year. Each Scholar will receive salary support up to $100,000 per year over two years. Scholars must be nominated by the Dean of their institutions, who must commit to protecting at least 50 percent of the Scholars’ time to pursue education reform projects at their institution. Each school may nominate only one candidate each year, and will be expected to provide a senior faculty member to mentor the Scholar.

The Foundation will support educational change in each Scholar’s institution and develop a national network for the Scholars, who will receive career advice from a National Advisory Committee and participate in an Annual Meeting for the program.

Meet the Scholars

Advisory Committee

A National Advisory Committee guides the Macy Faculty Scholars Program and provides Scholars with career advice.

David M. Irby, PhD Professor of Medicine University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)

Afaf I. Meleis, PhD, DrPS (HON), FAAN Margaret Bond Simon Dean of Nursing Professor of Nursing and Sociology University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing

Kelley M. Skeff, MD, PhD Professor, Department of Medicine Stanford University School of Medicine

Christine A. Tanner, RN, PhD, FAAN AB Younmans-Spaulding Distinguished Professor Oregon Health & Science University School of Nursing

Samuel O. Thier, MD Professor of Medicine and Health Care Policy, Emeritus Harvard University Medical School